Barbican String Quartet

Saturday 3 June, 7.30 pm

Barbican String Quartet

Their programme begins with Mozart's noble Adagio and Fugue in C minor and ends with Mendelssohn's spirited and passionate quartet in D from the Op. 44 set. Webern's Five Movements Op. 5, an early work from 1909, is remarkable for containing a wide range of expression in a relatively short time-span, from the agitated and turbulent, to the delicate and inward-looking.

John Casken's Second Quartet, written for The Lindsays in 1994, has been described as having a "Debussian sensuality"... "reflective intimacy"... and "a sometimes jazz-inflected brio".

Amarins Wierdsma Violin
Timothy Crawford Violin
Christoph Slenczka Viola
Yoanna Prodanova Cello

Mozart Adagio and Fugue in C minor
Casken String Quartet No 2
Webern Five Movement for String Quartet Op. 5
Mendelssohn String Quartet No. 3, Op. 44 No.1 in D major

The Barbican String Quartet has been acclaimed for their "gusto, comradeship and sharp attack"   The Times

"blazing and unusually forthright performance"   The Telegraph